It had been quite some time since I had taken my Maven box from Julep but when I saw they released a Yellow polish, I had to try it. Julep Lida is from the April Box and is a beautiful Matte Yellow polish with a pinkish shimmer, though it’s not noticeable in it’s matte form, you definitely see it once a glossy top coat is applied.

DSC02517
3 coats no top coat

The formula is a bit of a bear to work with, it is pretty sheer and takes 3 full coats to get opaque.

DSC02519
3 full coats no top coat

I attempted another type of nail art which I wasn’t happy with and so I decided to change direction with my mani. So I then went the smoosh route.

DSC02528
2 coats of Lida and glossy top coat

As you can see the glossy top coat brings out the pink shimmer within Lida.

DSC02534

 

For my Smoosh nails I used the following:

  • Vapid – Pegasus Poots
  • Julep – Lida
  • Zoya
    • Aspen
    • Tove
  • Sinful colors – Blackest black
  • Enchanted Polish – Dom

I applied a coat of Aspen on my nails and then smooshed on a combination of all the colors and with a striping brush I applied specks of Dom around the nail.

 

DSC02529
Smoosh Macro

DSC02533

I am kind of disappointed with the formula of Lida, but I think it will be a nice addition to my yellow polish collection and it is very cheery, plus the hidden pink shimmer really makes me like it more.

 

Thanks for reading.

XOXO

Yvy

